Windom Area Foundation

About Us
To Potential Donors
Established 2020

Giving back to the community

Our History

The Windom Area Foundation was formed in the summer of 2020, with identification of advisory board members, terms and officers occurring on July 15, 2020. Terms are three years. In the first year, advisory board members were assigned staggered terms of three years, two years and one year, assuring that the Foundation always has experienced board members.

What Drives Us

Our Mission

Connecting donors with causes – Making the Windom area a great place to live, work and play.

View our Projects

Make a Donation

Grant Application

Get to know us

Who We Are

Windom Area Foundation is one of 29 community foundation partners that are supported by Southwest Initiative Foundation in an 18-county region. It is a 501(c)(3) public charity, which allows gifts to the Windom Area Foundation to be tax deductible to the full extent of the law. The local advisory board is establishing the foundation’s purpose and priorities, as well as building relationships with donors and grant recipients. Meanwhile SWIF provides administra­tive and technical assistance to ensure local success, in addition to coordinating compliance with all state and federal charitable giving regulations.

About Southwest Initiative Foundation

Southwest Initiative Foundation is a nonprofit community foundation connecting people, investing in ideas and building communities to create a southwest Minnesota where all people thrive. SWIF launched its local community foundation program in 1999 to give Southwest Minnesotans a way to support the charities and the places that were important to their lives and to retain wealth in this rural region. Today, the foundation’s 30 affiliate partners advise 108 funds (including endowment, operating, project and designated funds) with assets totalling $9.2 million. In the last 20 years, these partners have awarded more than 2,400 local grants totaling $6.6 million. Learn more at


Board Members

Tony Scott


Justin Schmit


Mary Klosterbuer

Board Member

Dave Fischenich

Vice Chair

Mike Nesseth

Board Member

Peggy Pfeffer

Board Member

Rahn Larson


Ann Foley

Board Member

Jon Diemer

Board Member